The news is by your side.

Pakistan’s Women’s Cricket Team Announces Squad for South Africa Series

Pakistan Women's Cricket Team Announces Squad


The Pakistan national women’s cricket team has unveiled its 15-player squad for the upcoming white-ball series against South Africa. The series, which includes three T20Is and three ODIs, holds significance as the ODIs are part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25.

Young Talents and Comebacks Mark the Squad

Among the notable inclusions is 18-year-old Shawaal Zulfiqar, who is set to feature in the T20Is. Also making a comeback after recovering from injury is right-arm fast bowler Diana Baig, who will participate in both T20Is and ODIs. The experienced all-rounder Nida Dar will captain the side, succeeding Bismah Maroof.

Strategic Selections and New Opportunities

The squad’s formation came after thorough discussions led by Chief Selector Saleem Jaffar and captain Nida Dar. Leg-spinner Syeda Aroob Shah and all-rounder Natalia Parvaiz are making their return to the T20I side, while uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Najiha Alvi and off-spinner Umm-e-Hani are notable inclusions. Notably, several players have been left out from the last T20I squad, including Javeria Khan and Ayesha Naseem.

A Promising Outlook

Pakistan women’s team is ranked fourth in the ICC Women’s Championship points table. This series against South Africa marks their third home series in the championship. South Africa, on their first-ever tour of Pakistan, will reach Karachi on August 27. This series promises exciting cricket action and a platform for emerging talents to shine on the international stage.

Leave a comment