The news is by your side.

Sri Lanka Announces Finalized 15-Member Squad for Pakistan Tests


The Sri Lankan cricket team has finalized its 15-member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Pakistan, scheduled to begin on July 16 in Galle. The squad selection has been reported by The Sunday Times, Sri Lanka, and the official announcement will be made pending approval from the Sports Minister.

Ramesh Mendis and Prabath Jayasuriya have been chosen to spearhead the spin attack, with the selectors opting to exclude left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya and replace him with Praveen Jayawickrama.

In the pace department, the squad includes three pacers: Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, and Kasun Rajitha. However, it has been revealed that Asitha, who is currently recovering from dengue fever, will only be available for the second Test. In his absence, left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka is expected to take his place.

The batting lineup will feature players who recently participated in the series against Ireland, which means Pathum Nissanka will not be part of the squad. Nishan Madushka has been chosen to open the batting alongside skipper Dimuth Karunaratne.

It is important to note that the Sri Lanka Test squad mentioned below is subject to approval from the Sports Minister:

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Nishan Madushka (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lakshitha Manasinghe, Praveen Jayawickrama, Asitha Fernando/Dilshan Madushka, Vishwa Fernando, and Kasun Rajitha.

In related news, the Pakistan cricket team has arrived in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Sunday and is scheduled to travel to Hambantota on Monday, where they will play a two-day warm-up match on July 11 and 12.

Here is the schedule for Pakistan’s tour of Sri Lanka:

July 11-12: Two-day warm-up match in Hambantota

July 16-20: First Test at Galle International Cricket Stadium

July 24-28: Second Test at Singhalese Sports Club, Colombo

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, and Shan Masood.

Leave a comment